The beauty and dignity of the productive class

August 3, 2013 by History in a Hurry

THE BEAUTY AND DIGNITY OF THE PRODUCTIVE CLASS

FREEMANSPERSPECTIVE · JUL 25TH, 2013

by Paul Rosenberg
FreemansPerspective.com

At one time I lived very close to the Field Museum of Chicago; I had a membership and spent a good deal of time there. One evening, about ten minutes before closing, I noticed that workmen had begun preparing the first floor for an evening event. I had a panoramic view from where I stood at the second floor balcony, and what I saw has stuck with me ever since.

What I saw was a lone man setting up tables and chairs – simple work, the kind that any teenager could do. But what I watched this man do was every bit as beautiful as dance. He moved with integrity, with precision, and with intent. He carefully spaced the tables in a precise geometry, he moved every chair with efficiency. This was more than just work; it was also art. This man knew that he was doing his job well, and, perhaps most importantly, he enjoyed doing it well.

Continue reading:

http://www.freemansperspective.com/dignity/

Follow me on Twitter: @HistoryinaHurry

The only thing new in the world is the history you don't know.
-Harry S Truman

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

This site is powered by St. Ambrose Classical Homeschool, Vitamin D3, and Double Green Matcha Tea.

Gloria in excelsis Deo.