Restore liberty by pursuing a basic classical education

March 14, 2013 by History in a Hurry

I’m re-posting a column I wrote a few months ago about classical education. I think that structured, classical education is the best way to teach kids about liberty (as well as truth, beauty and goodness). If classical languages and logic were good enough for the Founding Fathers, they’re good enough for me and my kids.

I homeschool my daughter using a classical curriculum. But, as I wrote in this November 2012 column, anyone can pursue a basic classical education on their own. Don’t wait for politicians, bureaucrats or teachers to give you permission. Learn as much as you can about the foundations of western civilization.

A good resource for adults is The Well-Educated Mind: A Guide to the Classical Education You Never Had by Susan Wise Bauer.

****

Restore liberty by pursuing a basic classical education

by Andreatta Geerdes

America is culturally, intellectually and morally adrift because most of its citizens are ignorant of our nation’s cultural, intellectual and moral heritage.

I have a new honor-student slogan. But it’s too long for a bumper sticker: My student can recite the principal pharaohs of Egypt, “Jabberwocky,” 10 Latin numbers, and the preamble to the U.S. Constitution.

This is all true of my third-grader, who also rides horses, attends Sunday school, and plays piano. But this column isn’t about my family. It is about encouraging you and other Americans to restore liberty to our country by pursuing a basic classical education.

Continue reading:

http://communities.washingtontimes.com/neighborhood/speaking-family/2012/nov/19/restore-liberty-pursuing-basic-classical-education/

Follow me on Twitter: @HistoryinaHurry

The only thing new in the world is the history you don't know.
-Harry S Truman

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

This site is powered by St. Ambrose Classical Homeschool, Vitamin D3, and Double Green Matcha Tea.

Gloria in excelsis Deo.